St Cuthbert's Catholic Primary School joined Bishop Bewick Catholic Education Trust on 1st April 2022. The Local Governing Comittees of St George's and St Cuthbert's joined to form one LGC across both schools on 1st September 2023.


Bishop Bewick Catholic Education Trust is structured in accordance with its Articles of Association.


There are three levels of governance within the  Trust: the Members, The Trust Board of Directors, and the governors who make up the Local Governing Committee for each academy in the Trust.


The Trust comprises five Members. The Members are accountable to the DfE and have ultimate responsibility for the Trust achieving its charitable objectives. They sign off the Articles of Association and have the power to appoint and remove the Directors. The Members include representatives from the Diocese of Newcastle and Hexham. The majority of the Members are independent of the Directors to provide challenge and scrutiny to the Board.



‚ÄčThe ultimate responsibility for the running of our schools resides with the Directors of the Trust. They set the strategic direction for the Trust and are accountable to the Secretary of State for the performance of the schools within it. This is set out in a legal document known as the ‘funding agreement‘. As charity trustees, they must also ensure that they are complying with charity law requirements.


‚ÄčTo find out more about our Trust please visit

St Cuthbert's Catholic Primary School is part of the Bishop Bewick Catholic Education Trust

A company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales under company registration number No 7841435.

Registered Office: Fenham Hall Drive, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE4 9YH